The Castrol Toyota Racing Series car is a bespoke designed chassis supplied by in Italy. The FT50 is built to FIA F3 safety standards and has same physical dimensions as a current F3 car. Some important features include Magneti Marelli paddle shift system, Sadev gearbox, Brembo F3 brake package, Motec electronics, Aim onboard cameras, F3 wheel and tyre package.
Toyota’s well proven all alloy 2ZZ engine produces a reliable 215 HP. All CTRS engines are owned and maintained by Toyota New Zealand and are leased to the teams on a per season basis. At the end of each season the engines are stripped, rebuilt and then dynamometer tuned to ensure performance is equal. Spare engines are carried to each round of the series by Toyota Racing and in the very unlikely event a replacement engine is required, a replacement is immediately available. In the rare event of a failure which is not attributable to the driver or team, then the replacement engine will be supplied at no cost.
Michelin 312 tyres are used, the same tyre run in Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0. Each car is allocated a maximum number of tyres to use during the series, currently the limit is set at 16 sets of slicks and 3 sets of wets.
Sadev 6-speed transaxle with sequential paddle gearshift, Limited Slip Differential (fixed).
Brembo Formula 3 callipers and brakes package.
The driver must be 16 years of age at the start of the season.
On board recording with data overlay allows to work and compare drivers’ lines after each session.

CASTROL Toyota Racing Series

Designed to develop and nurture the next generation of world class driver’s, The Castrol Toyota Racing Series is independently organised by MotorSport New Zealand championship with technical support and backing from Toyota New Zealand Limited.

Drivers in TRS compete for every major title and trophy in the sport attracting Premier Gold Star status and the New Zealand Grand Prix title, which along with Macau and Pau are the only FIA-sanctioned Grand Prix race events outside of Formula One.

TRS trackside pit and hospitality facilities are unmatched in New Zealand. The paddock presence supports race teams, drivers, sponsors and their fans.

International drivers are provided with an opportunity to re ne their craft during the northern hemisphere winter, while New Zealand’s young talent gain invaluable experience on home soil training and competing against world class talent.


During 21 days

With 10 qualifying sessions and 15 race starts, the Castrol Toyota Racing Series offers the equivalent of half a season of a European championship in just 5 weeks!

of track time

Over 5 weeks

Split across around 10 sessions each week on average. 

Typical Race Meeting

The first four races follow a similar pattern in terms of sessions and timing:


13.00 Free Practice 1 (30′)
15.30 Free Practice 2 (30′)


10:30 Free Practice 3 (30′)
13.30 Free Practice 4 (30′)
15.30 Free Practice 5 (30′)


11.00 Qualifying Session 1 (15′)
11.20 Qualifying Session 2 (15”)
15.00 Race 1 (15 laps)


11.00 Race 2 (15 laps – marble draw reverse grid)
15.00 Race 3 (20 laps – feature race)

Round 1 – Ruapuna Mike Pero Motorsport Park

12 – 14 January 2018

Round 2 – Teretonga Park

19 – 21 January 2018

Round 3 – Hampton Downs Motorsport Park

26 – 28 February 2018

Round 4 – Taupo Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park

02 -04 February 2018

The New Zealand Grand Prix

Since 2006 the race has run as part of the Toyota Racing Series, which has gained international prominence due to the championship being held over the Northern Hemisphere winter. This has resulted in many international drivers joining the championship in their traditional off-season. It is seen as a stepping stone to larger open-wheeled classes, such as Formula 3, and beyond. Drivers such as Daniil Kvyat, Alex Lynn and Lance Stroll have competed in this race and then gone on to compete as race or test drivers in Formula One.

Many Formula One Drivers and World Champions have won the New Zealand Grand Prix, including three-time champion Sir Jack Brabham, Sir Jackie Stewart, John Surtees, Stirling Moss, Bruce McLaren, Graham Hill, Keke Rosberg, and more recently Lance Stroll and Le Mans 24h winner Earl Bamber.


13.00 Free Practice 1 (30′)
15.30 Free Practice 2 (30′)


11.00 3 Qualifying Session of 15 minutes each (45′)
15.00 Race 1 (20 laps)


10:30 Free Practice 3 (30′)
13.30 Free Practice 4 (30′)
15.30 Free Practice 5 (30′)


11.00 Race 2 (15 laps – marble draw reverse grid)
15.00 Race 3 (35 laps – New Zealand Grand Prix)

Round 5 – Manfeild Circuit Chris Amon

09 – 11 February 2018


TRS is now truly global driver development series with more than 100 countries broadcasting our show in mutiple languages. To add international flavour, Jonathan Green (Superbikes Commentator) is used for our program commentary.

– Motors TV Europe (42 countries with over 30 milliion subscribers)

– Alterna TV Network (North America in over 25 states, South America in over 7 countries)

– Star Times Aftrica (51 countries with over 4 million subscribers)

– Fox Sport TV (Australia)

– TV3 & Sky TV (New Zealand)